Media Deprivation

So I was out of town all week last week and did not get home until 7:30 p.m. tonight Sunday, 9/18. After looking for my kitten that had gone missing I sat down at the computer to catch up on school things and found this assignment by browsing everyone else’s blogs. I feel like maybe Dr. Ryan got this idea after speaking with me. The first day of class I let her know I would be out of town the past week, a week before I was set to go I discovered I would not have access to a phone or the internet without having to pay a ridiculous fee, so my husband and I decided to just do without.

Due to the similarity between the assignment and my lack of media, I feel like I can respond honestly to this writing prompt.

From Sunday, September the 11th at 2:00 p.m. when I last updated my Facebook status until Sunday, September the 18th around 8:00 a.m. when I could check into Foursquare, I was without my phone and the internet. Let me tell you, it was horrible.

Now I was kept pretty busy but when there were times of lull I consistently had the urge to grab my phone and check Facebook or text a friend. None of these things were possible and on more than one occassion I considered paying the exorbitant fees to use the internet.

Not being connected was difficult for nearly 7 whole days. Obviously it was not impossible. I made it. I survived. But I will be honest the moment I was clear to use my phone I was checking emails and voice-mail for the following hour.

If I had to have done this assignment as my peers had done,  I think I would have failed as some of my peers had done.

The fact of the matter is that we use the media so much that it is an integral part of our every day lives. I can foresee this being an assignment that is conducted in grade school in the future, as an exercise in life before the internet and cell phones. The fact that I can remember a day when I could recall all the phone numbers I used from memory alone and now can only remember a handful off the top of my head is not something I like to dwell on.

At least my days are more efficient…

Tiffany Lempesis

 

The 1st cell phone.

Tell Me What You Think!

